IFCO brings together people involved in Foster Care at our regular international and regional conferences. Through these networking events, professionals have the opportunity to exchange information and good practice in family based Foster Care.   Our conferences provide a multi-cultural arena where children, young people, foster carers, parents whose children are in Foster Care, social workers, academics, researchers, volunteers, media, policy makers and others can meet, share experience and support each other.

All conference attendees are united behind the common aim of helping to make it the right of every child to live in a family.

Forthcoming conferences

At the moment IFCO is looking to identify two host countries for the next IFCO Regional Conference that will take place in 2019 and IFCO World Conference scheduled for 2020. To learn more about the proceedings, the deadlines and evaluation criteria, please, download the full Call for Expression of Interest attached at the bottom of this page.

Previous conferences

Between 1981 and to date, we have staged 38 regional and international conferences in a wide range of locations:

2017 Valetta, Malta (International)
2016 Sheffield, UK (Regional)
2015 Sydney, Australia (International)
2014 Waterford, Ireland (Regional)
2013 Osaka, Japan (International)
2012 Sofia, Bulgaria (Regional)
2011 Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (International)
2010 Brighton, United Kingdom (Regional)
2009 Dublin, Ireland (International)
2007 Hamilton, New Zealand (International)
Mellieha, Malta (Regional)
2006 Bratislava, Slovakia (Regional)
Bucharest, Romania (Project)
2005 Madison, USA (international)
2004 Prague, Czech Republic (Regional)
Paramaribo, Surinam (Regional)
2003 La Plata, Argentina (International)
2002 Tampere, Finland (Regional)
2001 Veldhoven, The Netherlands (International)
2000 Cork, Ireland (Regional)
1999 Melbourne, Australia (International)
1998 Budapest, Hungary (Regional)
Manilla, The Philippines (Regional)
1997 Vancouver, Canada (International)
1996 Los Angeles, USA (Regional)
1995 Bergen, Norway (international)
1994 Berlin, Germany (regional)
1993 Dublin, Ireland (International)
1992 Gent, Belgium (Regional)
1991 Jonkoping, Sweden (international)
1990 Athens, Greece (Regional)
1989 Michigan, USA (International)
1988 Lunteren, The Netherlands (Regional)
1987 Leeds, United Kingdom (International)
1985 Christchurch, New Zealand (Regional)
1983 Christchurch, New Zealand (Regional)
1982 Beekse Bergen, The Netherlands (Regional)
1981 Slagharen, The Netherlands (International)
1979 Oxford, United Kingdom (International)